Press For Everybody Has Everything

“Onstad’s radiant novel is powered by gorgeous writing, a quietly propulsive plot, and an uncannily accurate rendering of the way love, lust, rage, and reconciliation ebb and flow in the life of a couple.”
Real Simple

“Crisp, gripping, and deeply thought-provoking . . . With concise, elegant prose, the author presents an audacious look at a question no one is supposed to ask, namely, can everyone be parents? Or, more important, should they? Book clubs will find much to captivate them, as will fans of highbrow issue-driven fiction in the vein of Anita Shreve and Wally Lamb.”
Library Journal, starred review 

“Ambitious…assured…gripping. Onstad’s timely new novel examines how and why adults choose to be parents, and what happens when you don’t have that much choice in the matter. Will you rise to the challenge, and what if you don’t? Ana and James are thoroughly convincing and their agony and triumphs compelling in this impressive sophomore effort.”
– The Globe and Mail

“This new book is very good, to get that out of the way: Onstad’s writing is always vigorous, funny and mean-because-it’s-true…Onstad perfectly gets at her characters, and their so-called “status life.”
National Post

“A literary excursion into the poignancy and murkiness of loss, parenting and marriage. No one can accuse Onstad of saccharine sentimentality. This is sharp, edgy writing…Onstad mines the emotions of flawed and wounded characters.”
Winnipeg Free Press 

“A sure touch and sharp insights.”
Toronto Star

“Brave work from a writer who gets better with every book…NNNN. Top 10 of 2012.”
– NOW Magazine

“Unsparingly honest…Never sentimental but always compassionate, this compelling book is hard to put down.”
Hello Magazine

“Everyone will recognize the all too common yearnings and failings of two people trying to figure out what will make them happy.”

“Revelations are both joyous and heartbreaking…Onstad delicately builds up layers and peels them away.”
– Quill & Quire

“The problems and prejudices of modern parenthood…” Interview with The Daily Beast

Interview with Shelagh Rogers, CBC’s The Next Chapter

Interview with Matt Galloway, on CBC Toronto’s Metro Morning

“Modern parenting has, arguably, become a kind of culture and industry – one that we’re all expected to happily be a part of…”
– Interview with

“Onstad’s novel dares to pose the still-controversial questions: What is parenthood beyond the biological connection?”
U of T Magazine

Where Toronto writers go to get inspired